Rufo to be a Friar

B’s Forward Accepts Offer from PC

MARLBORO, MA - The fallout from a banner season continues for the Junior
Bruins (Empire) with the recent commitment from Niko Rufo. He accepted a scholarship offer from the new head coach at Providence College, Nate Leaman.
In addition to Rufo, there have been other players from the Empire team with scholarship offers and visits being made following the teams National Championship run last season.
Rufo came to the B’s last season and was a key contributor for the team down the stretch. After a solid start to the year after he made the jump from the catholic ranks the prior season, he played his best hockey during the second half of the year as a top line player. Rufo has excellent quickness, top speed and a quick release. He also has the ability to beat defenders one on one and get to open area’s in the offensive to generate offense.
“It is great to see a new player come to our program and have the type of season that Niko did,” coach Chris Masters commented. “He made huge strides this season and turned himself into more of a complete player. He came to us with a lot of raw ability and talent and then worked all season to take his game to another level. You could see it coming throughout the season and the strides he was making by pushing himself and being pushed by his teammates all year in practice and you could see that hard work pay off.”
Rufo is another in a long line of Junior Bruins (Empire) alumni who have gone on to play at the D-1 level.
What follows is a list of the B’s alumni who are playing D-1 college or have made their commitments already (only went back
to the 04-05 season).
Mike Cichy-US-NTDP/North Dakota
Joey Lavin-US-NTDP-Notre Dame
Stevie Moses-UNH
John Henrion-US-NTDP-UNH
Edwin Shea-Boston College
Phil Ginand-Mercyhurst
Justin Gates-Providence
Josh Burrows-Vermont
Colin Shea-U-Mass Amherst
Dave Boehm-U-Mass Amherst
Matt Zarbo-Clarkson
Steve Morra-Northeastern
Connor Knapp-Miami (OH)
Derek Arnold-U-Lowell
Justin Mansfield-Merrimack
Clay Witt-Northeastern
Danny Federico-Quinnipiac
Al Butler-U-Lowell
Joe Pendenza-Merrimack
Gunnar Hughes-St. Lawrence
Cody Learned-Yale
Zach Luczyk-Quinnipiac
Ross McMullan-St. Lawrence
Stevie Miller-Cornell
Frankie Vatrano-Boston College
Brian Morgan-Maine
Griffyn Martin-Yale
Colin Stevens-Union