Six Teams Headed North

MARLBOROUGH, MA-The Junior Bruins AAA tournament team program, coming off its most successful season a year ago, gets going in earnest this weekend as the black and gold are sending six teams to Toronto to play in three separate tournaments. The 1996 and 1997 B’s will be at the Prospects tournament, the 2000 and 20001′s will be at the Toronto Invitational and the 2002 and 2003′s will be at the PHD Bauer Shootout.

The teams will have a national, and even an international, feel to them as the players hail from nearly a dozen states and provinces throughout the US and Canada. Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, California, Ontario, British Columbia and Florida area all represented on the B’s teams this weekend.

The 1996′s went undefeated year winning the Lobsterfest ad Beantown Summer Tour events. In Toronto this weekend will be forwards Brandon Fusaro, Sonny Milano, Louis Vlahakis, Chris Kotrides, Nate Knox, Brendan Shane, Ryan hitchcock, Jacob Benson and JJ Picchinich. At the point are defensemen Tyler Hall, Brandon Fortunato, Frank Hora, Robert Orlando and Ryan Fritz. In the pipes is goalie Stefano Durante.

The 1997′s, the most successful Bruins AAA summer team is coming off another undefeated season that saw them go 22-0-1 winning the Prospects, Skater’s Edge. Lobsterfest and Beantown Summer Tour. Goalie Kevin Resop is back with the team and is joined by Zachary Sanchez. Two ’97 AAA team anchors are back on defense in Noah Hanifin and John Marino and are joined by talented newcomers Ty Schultz, Josh DeFarias and Quinn Robelle. Up front there is a lot of firepower-Colin White, Jeremy Bracco, Tyler Demyan, Ty Comrie, Matt Barzal, Mitchell Stephens, Braeden Gurney, Luke Kirwin (who scored the OT winner last year at the Beantown Tour) and Justin Szeto.

The 2000′s, who went 24-4-1 last season, have Thomas Maia, Oliver Wahlstrom, Patrick Bogart, Jake Wise, TJ Walsh, Riley Damiani, Alex Trenton and Dyland Daigneault up front and Robert Radochia, Ryan O’Connor, Brandon Tabakin, Trevor Spence and
Sam Rand in the rear. Goalies Elliot Tang and Christian Mattiace will make their B’s debut this weekend.

The 2001 “Brick” team is back for their second tournament of the season having already won their opening tournament earlier this month. It was there that the team staged one of the wildest comebacks in Bruins history coring twice in the final 17 seconds to tie the game before Conor Lovett got the GWG in OT over the New England Storm.

The 2002′s, who made their debut in 2010 and had a 17-1-1 record and took home the Montreal Warrior Meltdown and Icebreaker titles, look to avenge a loss in the finals (in OT) of the Toronto tournament a year ago this weekend. Bakc for a second tour of duty are forwards Zach Stewart, Phil Tresca, Joe Soliminie, Matt Beniers, Declan Lovett, Kyle Heath and defensemen Ryan Prewitt, Ian Moore, Charlie Spence and Nolan Hayes. NEwcomers at forward are Collin Graf and Kalen Szeto ad defensemen Ryan Helliwell. In the pipes is ’02 vet Mason Kucenski and making his B’s debut is Drew Commesso.

The 2003 Junior Bruins will take the ice for the first time with forwards Christian Koylion, Zach Peltz, CJ Monturio, Nick Ring, Nick Roukounakis, Greg Peltz, Culin Wilson and Cameron Cyr. The rearguards will be Ryan Juengel, Connor Berg, Nick Peters, Jack Henry Lages and Troy Pratt while Greyson Pane will handle the goaltending duties. Twins Greg and Zach Peltz are a first for the B’s as they become the fourth and fifth siblings to play for the black and gold as older brothers Brad (a forward now at Yale), Will and Diesel all suited up for the team in the past.